To K at 6 Years & 6 Year Interview

Another time around the sun with you, munchkin! And it has been quite the trip! This year was a year of big changes from our family, and I think you have grown in the process. Over the summer, we moved from our townhouse in Maryland to our own home, with lots of land, in Northwest Vermont! As always, there are pros and cons – you miss your friends from Maryland, but love having your own room and lots of space outside to run and explore. And we are closer to family, so we have gotten more quality time with them.

We officially started Kindergarten in the fall! We home school, so it is not so much different than what we were doing before, but now Mommy has to report to the State and there are certain subjects we are required to cover. I am not really worried about it – you are still free to learn at your own pace. You were already sounding out phonetic words at your last birthday, but writing was really challenging, so we took a step back and started at the beginning of Logic of English’s Foundation program. The reading part was mostly review for you, but your reading has definitely improved. I chose the program because of the writing component, and it has been so good for us; your writing is much improved and you have even been practicing writing things on your own! I have also noticed that your drawing has improved – it is easier to tell what you have drawn and you usually have a story around it.

As always, you love to be read to, and would be happy listening to stories all day. We do a lot of reading aloud for school, so I use this to my advantage.

You still love animals and want to be a veterinarian when you grow up. Lions are still your favorite, but you have been learning more about horses this year and they are a close second. You have been asking for riding lessons and I am going to look into it this fall. Most of the time when you are playing you are either pretending to be a vet taking care of animals, or you are pretending to be an animal yourself.

You lost two teeth this year (your bottom front two)! One a few months ago, and one just before Christmas. The big teeth were already coming in behind by the time they fell out, so you haven’t really had big gaps. When your second tooth became loose, you started working on sewing a tooth pillow to put it in to give to the tooth fairy. I am so impressed by your sewing for your tooth pillow – it is much improved from the sewing project we did earlier in the year.

You still wake up far too early. You are almost always up before 6, raiding the fridge and turning on all the lights. Sometimes we even hear you jumping around your room in the wee hours of the morning (like 3am…) when no one should be awake in our house! You do fall asleep easily at bedtime – probably because you are so tired by that point!

Wearing appropriate clothing has been a challenge. You do not like to wear pants, and you will not wear underware, even with dresses. You only wear nightgowns at night and most of the time wear the same skort or shorts during the day as you say it is the only thing that is comfortable. You also will not wear long-sleeve shirts because you do not like how they feel under your coat (which you also don’t want to wear, but it is cold enough that you do.) I am really hoping this is a phase you grow out of soon.

You play well with your brother about 60% of the time. The rest of the time you want to play alone or you are fighting, but I think that is normal. I think it’s a little harder for you now that your brother is more vocal about his wants and desires. You are very excited to have another sibling though – you are very sweet with babies and I know you will be a big help when your new brother or sister is born in June. (You are, naturally, hoping for a sister.)

Kiara’s 6 Year Interview

What is your favorite color? Pink

What is your favorite toy? Simba (stuffed lion from The Lion King)

What is your favorite fruit? Mango

What is your favorite veggie? Cauliflower

What is your favorite TV show? Wild Kratts

What is your favorite outfit? Purple skort and Swarthmore College shirt

What is your favorite thing to eat for lunch? Macaroni and Cheese

What is your favorite game? Robot Turtles

What is your favorite snack? Larabars

What is your favorite animal? Lions (horses are a close second)

What is your favorite song? Wild Kratts Christmas Song

What is your favorite book? The Lion King

Who is your best friend? No best friend right now; has friends in Church class.

What is your favorite thing to do outside? Bike

What is your favorite drink? Apple juice

What is your favorite holiday? Christmas and my birthday

What do you take to bed with you at night? Simba

What do you like to eat for breakfast? Pancakes

What do you want for dinner on your birthday? Sausage and cauliflower

Favorite School Subject: Animals (Science/Nature)

What do you want to be when you grow up? A Vet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *